Posted by: reachdev | December 29, 2009

Count Your Blessings

One of my favorite traditions this time of year is to watch all of the classic Christmas movies in our collection. I really enjoy them because they seem to portray the best nature of people. The challenges of George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life” show how friends will come to our aid in times of real need. Young Susie Walker teaches us the power of belief, “I believe, I believe, I know it’s stupid but I believe!” as she get her dreams fulfilled in “Miracle on 34th Street.” And the power of persistence is evidenced in “A Christmas Story” as Ralphie schemes to get his Red Rider BB gun. But this year I was most taken by the classic, “White Christmas”, and the scene when Bing and Rosemary sing, “Count Your Blessing.”

As I listened to the song, one I had heard numerous times before, it struck me how important this concept is to our own personal happiness. We tend to take for granted all that is positive in our lives, such as our good health, a family that brings us joy, friends on which we can rely, or a warm home on a cold, snowy night. Perhaps it is because we have so much and have enjoyed it for so long that these pleasures become commonplace and they escape our consciousness. But the moment one of these “blessing” is lost we will find our whole being aches for its return. So, as we face an unknown and possibly precarious future in the new year of 2010, I encourage you to look at what you have rather than what you lack, and ease your mind by counting the many blessings in your life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

