Posted by: reachdev | March 17, 2014

Grow Where You Are Planted

In order to get away from the bitter cold and neck deep snow of Minneapolis, I spent last week in sunny Florida. Being able to bask in the warm weather and walk along the beach got me thinking about how nice it would be to live somewhere warm, somewhere without subzero days and sixteen hour nights, without snow shoveling and glare ice that makes for treacherous driving and walking. I dreamed about a life of beach combing and scuba diving and days spent by the ocean. They were beautiful dreams, but as the week advanced toward its inevitable end, I realized that these dreams would have to wait. I had work to do.

Lonely-Trees-5Vacation destinations are wonderful places to relax because they take us away from our everyday worries and plant us, temporarily, in paradise. It is so different from home that we desire this idyllic version of life. It is this very feeling upon which vacation time-share companies make their living. The challenge is that we only see the “sunny” side of the area. If we had to live in that paradise every day, year after year, it would grow tiresome, just like home! Growing up in the military, I’ve lived in many places in my life, and every one of them had their good and bad side. No place is perfect although each destination has its “paradise” time of year.

So, although I loved my time in Florida, I realize that my life is at home in Minnesota. My work is rewarding and I enjoy my friends and clients. I can put up with many winters yet to come and use Florida as a well-deserved break in the middle of the long cold winters. I shall look for the good wherever I am and grow where I have been planted.

Leave a Reply

Categories

